Blog :: General :: PENNIES FOR PENCILS: A WAY TO HELP SCHOOL CHILDREN IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
village-center-Saint-Paul-Community

Headline news

PENNIES FOR PENCILS: A WAY TO HELP SCHOOL CHILDREN IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

Tuesday 29 th August 2017



At the beginning of this year, Saint Lucy Parish School, in Racine (Wisconsin) did a “penny competition” to raise funds for the children of La Sagrada Familia parish in the Dominican Republic. At the end of the fundraising $1,500.00 were collected for the Pennies for Pencils Program.
 
Every year, at the beginning of the school year in the Dominican Republic, many families have difficulties to pay for the school materials and uniforms of their children. It is so hard for them to obtain these goods that as a result many kids start the school a few weeks late, when finally their families have the opportunity to buy the materials for them. With the help from Saint Lucy, La Sagrada Familia Parish has been able to give notebooks, pencils and uniforms to some of our neediest children. From here we would like to thank the school children of Saint Lucy for helping children in the Dominican Republic to go to school!!


 

Comments
Your email will not be disclosed anywhere
Antispam Control


Latest News

Blog archives









Contact

1505 Howard Street
Racine, WI 53404, USA
racine@comsp.org
Tel.: +1-262-634-2666

Mexico City, MEXICO
mexico@comsp.org
Tel.: +52-555-335-0602

Azua, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
azua@comsp.org
Tel. 1: +1-809-521-2902
Tel. 2: +1-809-521-1019

Cochabamba, BOLIVIA
cochabamba@comsp.org
Tel.: +591-4-4352253

Bogota, COLOMBIA
bogota@comsp.org
Tel.: +57-1-6349172

Meki, ETHIOPIA
meki@comsp.org
Tel.: +251-932508188